Purnima Iyer

New

Online 10 USD / Hour

In-Person 10 USD / Hour

Specialization : Languages

Hello! My name is Purnima and I live in Jacksonville, Florida. I've worked as a university ESL instructor for more than 10 years and I have a Master's degree in TESOL (Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages). I've lived in Jacksonville for more than a year, and I've also lived in India for 20 years, and in Thailand for 17 years. I'm here in Jacksonville with my husband and my 18-year-old daughter. We have beautiful Oak trees everywhere and beautiful sunsets here. I was living in Laurel, Maryland before I moved to Florida. I live near a river called St. John's River in Jacksonville, and I like to walk to the river to watch the sunset almost every day. I've been teaching English to students from many different countries. I've enjoyed learning about their cultures and their experiences. I speak six languages - English, Thai, Japanese, Bengali, Hindi, and Tamil, and I'm practicing Japanese and learning Spanish at the moment. I studied Japanese for 2 years while living in Thailand, and took the Level 4 Japanese Language Proficiency Test (JLPT). I love Japanese culture and I always try to learn more about the traditions and life of Japanese people. I have also taken the TOEIC test and have a perfect score of 990. I have taught many courses such as English for Presentations, Public Speaking, Listening for Comprehension, and Writing courses, while working at the universities in Thailand. I am a very compassionate teacher and I always put students' needs before mine. I love getting to know each student, and finding out about their dreams and goals in life, so I can work around that and help them as much as I can to remain inspired and help them to achieve their goals in any way that I can. I respect each student's identity and I like the different personalities of students and the special things that they have to offer as an individual. I am a very good listener and a problem solver, I love English,  math and IT, and I love teaching!!! I love traveling and I've been to different parts of the world. I love meeting new people and learning about different cultures. I've attended several international conferences and also given presentations at some of these conferences, related to the topic of teaching English. I love all different kinds of art. I am a part-time dancer, and I have been dancing since I was 5 years old. I am a trained classical Indian dancer(having trained in Kathak), and I have given several performances in my life, on Kathak, Salsa and Bachata. I believe each and every student has a lot of potential, and we as teachers should help them discover it and motivate them to do their best in life. I look forward to lessons with you. Thank you so much and stay safe :)

  • Qualification :
  • Experience : Years
  • United States - Other - 1630 Larue Avenue Jacksonville Florida 32207

Share Profile on

My Specialities

Languages